Top Navigation

Reading Events: Carnegie Award and Read4Barnet

Carnegie Shadowing Event

On Thursday 14th June we were really pleased to welcome the Barnet Carnegie Shadowing 2018 event to East Barnet School.  We welcomed a range of schools from Barnet to come and join in discussions and presentations about the Carnegie Award Shortlist, and we had 20 of our own students take part.  The author of Orangeboy, Patrice Lawrence, started the event off with a talk about her books and the inspiration behind her writing. The event then moved on to hear student presentations from each school; our EBS shadowing group did their presentation on Beyond the Bright Sea by Lauren Wolk which was extremely persuasive and impressive, well done! After lunch it was time for lively discussions on the books and then judging time. Each student had to vote on which book they would like to win the Carnegie Award 2018.  Votes were collected and tallied and the winner for Barnet Carnegie Award was The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas.  The actual winner judged by Librarians around the UK wasn’t announced until the following Monday, this ended up being a different book, Where the World Ends by Geraldine McCaughrean, however, The Hate U Give was awarded the Amnesty CILIP Honour 2018.  Participating in the 2018 event was both interesting and fun for students and staff alike and we can’t wait to join in next year!



This year EBS had the pleasure of participating in the Read4Barnet event which took place on 28th June at The Wren Academy.  Read4Barnet is a Barnet wide schools event which asks students to read a specifically created shortlist of books, attend the event to watch four author talks and then discuss and vote for their favourite author of Read4Barnet 2018.  The authors this year were Anthony McGowan, Nat Luurtsema, Non Pratt and Ruth Eastham. We took nine Year 7-8 students, they were split into two groups so they could see two different author talks and then all students gathered in the auditorium for a panel session with all the authors, the students had so many questions that we ran out of time.  Before lunch students went into groups to vote on their favourite author of 2018 and after lunch there was an awards ceremony to announce the winner, which was Nat Luurtsema, author of Lou Out of Luck and Goldfish. 


Comments are closed.