Top Navigation


Key Stage 3 (KS3)

Education in Years 7, 8 and 9 is often referred to as Key Stage 3 or KS3. These are the first subjects students study whilst in secondary school and gives a good basis for choosing GCSE subjects in Year 9.

Students are not able to choose their subjects at Key Stage 3 and must study National Curriculum subjects: English, Mathematics, Science, Art, Drama, Geography, History, Information Communication Technology, Modern Foreign Languages, Music, Physical Education, PSHEE, Religious Education and Design and Technology.

More information about each subject can be found on the menu to the left, reading through the KS3 Handbook or by clicking here to see the Department for Education National Curriculum pages.