Top Navigation


The Curriculum for Key Stage 4 (KS4)

The information contained within these pages reflect the options for courses starting in 2018/19. The curriculum being offered at East Barnet School for the current Year 10 can be seen here and the curriculum being offered for the current Year 11 can be seen here.

All students should follow courses in English, Mathematics, Science and Physical Education. They will also study Personal, Social, Health and Economics Education (PSHEE) including RE & Citizenship, and will have experience of Information Technology which is co-ordinated across a variety of subjects. In addition, they must choose from a wide range of optional subjects. These are explained below.

Changes to the Curriculum - 2018 onwards

As you may have heard, there have been a number of changes in education which will impact on the way our students are to be taught and assessed over the next few years. We will continue to provide the very highest quality teaching so that our students are able to perform to their very best in their GCSEs but a summary of the key changes affecting your child are outlined below.

Key changes:

  1. For all GCSE subjects, students will now be graded using the new grading scale that uses numbers 1 (lowest) to 9 (highest) which will now replace the old grading system of A* to G.
  2. In the majority of GCSE subjects, students will now be assessed only by examination. This ‘linear’ assessment means that all students will sit their GCSE exams at the end of the course in those subjects. For current Year 9 students, this will mean sitting exams in May/ June 2020. There will be a few subjects which will still contain an element of coursework and you should consult staff about this.
  3. Students will now be studying 9 GCSEs or other qualifications. This will enable them to receive more teaching time per subject.

There are various other changes which are subject specific and these are outlined on the subject specific page in this booklet. If you have any queries, do not hesitate to contact the relevant department and they will be happy to help.

Information on Core Subjects

It is compulsory for all students to study English, Mathematics, and Science in Key Stage 4. Students in Year 10 and 11 are divided into two half year groups, each of which contains
the same spread of ability. In each of these subjects there will be several sets composed of
students who are expected to achieve the highest grades.

Decisions about groups in English, Mathematics and Science are made by the respective departments and any questions relating to this can be asked at the forthcoming consultation evening.

Information on Optional Subjects

At KS4, it is important to study a broad and balanced curriculum. In completing your options form, we ask you to choose a Humanities subject from Group 1, a Modern Foreign Language from Group 2, a Technology subject from Group 3 and a free choice in Group 4. We are also asking you to select 1 reserve subject in case we are unable to offer your first choice.

If you would prefer not to choose a Humanities of Modern Foreign Language or Technology subject, but would prefer to take up one of your reserve subjects, please tick the appropriate box on the options form and add an additional subject to the reserve list. Your request cannot be guaranteed but will be given consideration.