Details of our

Learning Ladders

East Barnet School > Education > Learning Ladders

What are Learning Ladders?

Learning Ladders form the basis of our new approach to assessment beyond National Curriculum Levels. Each department/faculty has identified the different stages in learning from Year 7 to the end of Year 11 to help students and parents understand what the learning journey involves in each subject. For Years 7 to 9 teachers have identified the level of ‘expected learning’ which is where the majority of our students should be working at during each academic year to ensure a good GCSE result at the end of Key Stage 4. This links in directly with our new reporting system at Key Stage 3 where students will be assessed termly, to be working at the Higher, Expected or the Foundation stages of learning. ‘Expected learning’ will vary from subject to subject depending on the extent to which each subject was studied at primary school.

The content of the Learning Ladders is shared with students in lessons so that they can see how they are performing and also to empower them to identify the next steps in learning in each subject studied within the curriculum.

Department Learning Ladders

By clicking on the individual subjects on this page, you will be able to access the individual Learning Ladders for those departments. They are in a PDF format, so they can either be downloaded or printed.